Blog Tour – Lay Me to Rest by E.A. Clark Rachel’s Random Reads

Delighted to have a fellow HQ author on the blog today!

Lay Me To Rest Tour Schedule[2653].jpg

Lay Me To Rest
Some secrets never stay buried for long…
Devastated by the death of her husband, Annie Philips is shocked to discover she is pregnant with his unborn child. Hoping for a fresh start, she travels to a remote stone cottage in Anglesey, amidst the white-capped mountains of North Wales.
She settles in quickly, helped by her mysterious new neighbour, Peter. But everything changes when Annie discovers a small wooden box, inlaid with brass and mother-of-pearl. A box she was never supposed to find…
Annie soon realises that she isn’t alone in the cottage. And now she’s trapped. Can she escape the nightmare that she has awoken, or will the dark forces surrounding the house claim her life – and that of her baby?
A gripping thriller from E. A. Clark, perfect for fans of Kerri Wilkinson, Sarah Wray and Stella Duffy. You won’t be able to put it down!

Lay Me to Rest[2650].jpg
Purchase from Amazon UK:

My Review

It’s a big five stars from me – I know I have been handing these out a fair bit lately, but I really have had some cracking reads recently. This book centres on tragic figure Annie Phillips, widowed and newly pregnant. Thee is a book enough just in that, but when her sister tries to give her a change of scene, that’s when all hell breaks loose!

This book is deliciously creepy, with more than a few hairs standing on end moments, and the writing is beautiful too. Clark has a wonderful writing voice that enchanted me from the off. This is a cracking book, and the ending did make me wonder…what comes next? The cover is gorgeous too, isn’t it? It’s only 99p at the moment too!
About E. A. Clark

ea clark
E. A. Clark lives Itin the Midlands with her husband and son, plus a rather temperamental cat, a rabbit and a chinchilla. She has three (now grown-up) children and five grandchildren. She is particularly partial to Italian food, decent red wine (or any coloured wine come to that …) and cake – and has been known to over-indulge in each on occasions.
She has a penchant for visiting old graveyards and speculating on the demise of those entombed beneath. Whilst she has written short stories and poetry for many years, a lifelong fascination with all things paranormal has culminated in her first novel for adults, Lay Me to Rest. The setting is inspired by her love of Wales, owing to her father’s Celtic roots.
Follow E.A. Clark on…
Twitter
Facebook

Advertisements

The Little Church by the Sea by Liz Taylorson @BooksManatee @taylorson_liz

The Little Church by the Sea by Liz Taylorson @BooksManatee @taylorson_liz

mychestnutreadingtree


Today I am delighted to welcome Liz Taylorson to the blog with a fantastic Q&A. Welcome Liz!

Tell me about your journey to publication…

I’ve always loved writing, and when I gave up my career working in a university library to look after my children I saw it as a chance to do the one thing I had always dreamed of doing and I finally wrote MY NOVEL. I was firmly convinced it was the best novel ever written, probably up there with War and Peace, until I joined the Romantic Novelist’s Association New Writers’ Scheme (a fantastic scheme allowing novices like me to get professional critiques and advice on their work) to find that my great novel was … badly written and self indulgent! As well as not being romantic enough for romance, too romantic for women’s fiction and definitely NOT funny enough for any kind of comedy …

View original post 890 more words

Book Review: My Girlfriend’s Perfect ex-Boyfriend by Peter Jones

Me small.jpg

My Book Review

peterjones cover

First of all, apologies for the late posting of this review! Work and MA work, plus family stuff is taking a lot of time at the moment and I am trying to slow down on my workload for Christmas.

This book is absolutely hilarious. Hilarious, from the title to the wonderful character that is Adrian Turner. I must admit, I didn’t like Paige in the beginning. I felt like she let Ade spin out of control a little, even though I must admit he was a little neurotic. Which is so refreshing to read, since men in books are normally so self assured – to have a hot mess like Ade is awesome! The relationship between him and his student is very funny too, and heartwarming in many places. We have all opened the x-files from time to time, and this is a refreshing take. Reading about a man feeling jealous and insecure was a nice change, and made me realise that perhaps it’s not just us women that go through these emotions!

Definitely worth a read. Thoroughly enjoyed being in his world.

To check out Peter Jones and his books, check out his Amazon page

Blog tour: Wide Awake Asleep by Louise Wise

Wide Awake Asleep Full Schedule[2603]

Wide Awake Asleep

Can you really be on the WRONG path in life?

No one knew she was driving on that stretch of road. No one saw her car leave the highway and crash into a watery ditch. No one heard the car’s windscreen smash or saw the tree branch come through to impale her to her seat. No one heard her screams.

Julie Compton’s life should have come to an end that day, but instead, that moment was the beginning of her new life as she wakes, unharmed, back in 1972 and primed to relive her traumatic childhood all over again. One flaw. She’s in the body of a stranger.

Journey back to the 70s and 80s England where Julie is forced to jump through the eras, occupying and controlling other people’s bodies she knew as a child. She must work out which destiny path was the wrong one all while wondering if her body, back in 2016, was dying in her car.

With each momentous change, her memories transform and she realises she’s not only changing her future but of those around her. She’s finally ‘living’ but does that mean she must die?

Wide Awake Asleep Banner[2601].jpg

REVIEW

Where to start with this book? First of all apologies for my late posting of this review, but I just finished the book and to be honest I am still processing my feelings! This is such a great book, a time travel foray into the inner workings of childhood sorrows and the impact of these events on adult life. The mother and daughter relationship underpins the whole book and is gritty and very true to life, even being set in fantasy. I started off hating the very opinionated and mean spirited mother but by the end of the story my feelings were very different. I think that many of us feel that we didn’t know our own childhood story and feel the impact of our upbringing on our adult lives, and this book deals with that perfectly. I thoroughly enjoyed it  and found it very refreshing.

5 stars from me!

Amazon.com

Amazon.uk

Intriqued? You will be – I would definitely recommend this book – I shall leave you with a juicy author bio – see you soon!

Wide Awake Asleep - Louise Wise[2605].jpg

Author Bio –

Louise Wise is a British writer and has been weaving stories all her life—and for many years, she was a ‘closet writer’ with a cupboard is full of ageing manuscripts depicting fantastical romantic adventures!

Most of her books have an element of romance, but tend to cross over into other genres, giving them a unique edge.

Her debut novel is the best-selling sci-fi romance EDEN, which was followed by its sequel HUNTED in 2013.

A PROPER CHARLIE is a romantic comedy written purely for the chick lit market, but then she decided to unite her love of all things supernatural with romance and OH NO, I’VE FALLEN IN LOVE and WIDE AWAKE ASLEEP came along.

Her other works include SCRUFFY TRAINERS (a collection of short stories with a twist). She has written numerous short stories for women’s magazines including Women’s Own and Take a Break.

She loves hearing from her readers – the good, the bad and the ugly stuff they want to share!

REVIEW PILE

It’s November, we have survived Halloween and I loved the Phifer takeover! I have read two books from her, and I loved them so much that I plan to read the rest – along with Peter Jones’s new book, which so far is hilarious!

NaNoWriMo is now on and I am writing book 6, and have edits pending on book 5, so a social media break is in order – keep watching the blog for further review updates and happy November!

Rachel

 

xxx

London Noir by Ann Girdharry

London Noir Banner[2570]

London Noir
Memory loss, nightmares, the urge to kill – Sophie has it all.
Is it really Post Traumatic Stress Disorder? Or something more sinister? Kal is about to find out…

After a near-fatal road accident, Kal helps Sophie, a young girl in trouble.

The girl’s friends are being murdered one by one. Why? And who by?
Kal must kick start herself out of her downward spiral to save the young stranger.
But Kal is in the grip of the London Cartel, and is someone after the girl, or is the girl after someone?
Purchase London Noir on Kindle
Purchase London Noir in Paperback

LondonNoir high defcover[2572]

Author Bio –
Ann Girdharry is a British crime suspense thriller author.
A trained psychotherapist, she worked for many years as a manager in the not-for-profit sector, for agencies working with carers, vulnerable older people, survivors of abuse, and victims of racial attacks.
She currently lives in Montpellier, France with her husband and two children.
Her debut novel, GOOD GIRL BAD GIRL, is an ERIC HOFFER BOOK AWARD Finalist 2017.
Her second crime suspense thriller, LONDON NOIR, will be published October 2017.
She is also author of Chilling Tales of the Unexpected Short Reads.
Author Links
Website www.girdharry.com
Facebook https://www.facebook.com/AnnGirdharry
Goodreads www.goodreads.com/AnnGirdharry
Twitter www.twitter.com/GirdharryAnn

Day 3 of Phifer Takeover!

ghost house

Day 3 of Phifer takeover and I have finished The Ghost House. I loved it, and I can definitely see what so many people see in her writing! I didn’t read much on my kindle in the dark, I can tell you!
Getting into the mind of the serial killer felt effortless when reading, and this disturbed me quite a bit! Exceptional writing, I can’t wait to start book 2 today! This is a ghost story, and a police procedural all rolled into one with a bag of tension, I really did find it unique.

Do you believe in ghost stories?

‘I’m coming to find you, ready or not.’

There’s not much that scares Annie Graham. Not even the horrors she has witnessed during her years on the police force.

When she agrees to look after her brother’s farmhouse, she finds herself drawn to the crumbling old mansion in the woods nearby. But an innocent exploration of the empty ruin and the discovery of the diary of former resident Alice leaves her more than a little spooked. She knows it holds the secrets to a dark past, and she has to find out more.

What was the terrible truth that Alice uncovered? And how could what happened to her over 100 years ago help solve the murders of young women in the town?

Annie needs to stop the serial killer before she becomes his next victim – but the past comes back to haunt her in ways she could never have expected.

A haunting crime thriller that will keep you on the edge of your seat.

See you soon for more Phifer takeover!