Author Interview: Barbara Phipps

Today, I am honoured to have Barbara come and chat to us! She is an author from Wakefield, West Yorkshire – just like me!

Her books are out now on Amazon.

Hi Barbara, thanks for coming to chat to us today!

Q1. Can you tell us a little about your WIP?

My WIP, with the working title ‘A Conflict of Interests’ is fiction based on fact. It is set in the late 18th and the 19th century. There are many strong, and quite quirky characters. To portray them as believable, that is to say, as characters a reader could relate to, is proving to be my greatest challenge to date.

Q2.What’s next for the writing? What are you working on currently?

It will take quite a while to complete my WIP, there is much more research to be done as the facts of the story are quite complicated. Turning the story into an easily read novel means I have to discard some facts which, although interesting, as not pertinent to the storyline.

Q3. In addition to your books, what kind of career have you had?

I have had many, very interesting jobs, but not what you would call a career. Having worked with pharmacists, dentists, doctors, vets and pathologists, I have a little knowledge about lots of things. I was also a magistrate for sixteen years.

Q4. A typical day in the life of you – what does that look like?

I like to rise early, replying to emails with my first coffee. I love my garden, so summer time pulls me outside. Because of this, writing and research takes a back seat in summer, but I try to do a little each day, even if it is just a few minutes. Winter months and rainy days see the word count rise!

Q5. I collect elephant ornaments (and books of course!) – do you have something you collect?

I am not a collector, or hoarder, of anything.

Q6. Women writers, and romance writers in particular, often see prejudice and a certain ‘pigeon holing’ when it comes to their books – what would you say about your own work?

I would say that both I, and my work, are difficult to pigeon hole. I have written a contemporary novel, a trilogy set in the 1950’s/60’s, and a historical novel, based on fact.

Q7. If you could branch out into a different genre, which one would you choose and why?

I would like to write a crime novel, but for now I find fiction based on fact, or faction as it is sometimes called, absolutely fascinating as I bring back a forgotten tale.

Q8. Do you have any tips for the budding novelists out there reading this?

As with anything, the more you do it, the better you will become. Try to write every day.

Q9. What are you reading currently?

‘Someone LIke You’, by Roald Dahl

Q10. Finally, do you have a next goal or dream in life? If so, what is it?

I have had several reviews of my work on Amazon, even suggesting my books would make good films. That would be nice!

I hope you get your dream Barbara! Stay in touch!

 

 

One thought on “Author Interview: Barbara Phipps

Leave a Reply

