Book Blogger Showcase: Julie Ryan at www.allthingsbookie.com

To show my appreciation for the sheer effort, determination and passion that book bloggers show us authors, I have decided that it would be nice to know more about them! To this end, I have decided to run a book blogger showcase celebrating those bloggers!

First up on my showcase is the delightful Julie Ryan, who runs www.allthingsbookie.com.

 

  1. How long have you been a book blogger?

I started blogging about books in 2013 when I realised I needed to keep track of what I’d read and share the love of good books with like-minded people.

 

  1. How old is your blog? Did you have any before?

I set up www.allthingsbookie.com in November 2013. I’d just published my first book and knew how important bloggers would be. By returning the favour and blogging about other writers I managed to build up a supportive network of readers and writers.

 

  1. Why did you get into blogging in the first place?

Apart from the fact that a writer friend told me I needed a blog, I found I enjoyed interacting with people.

 

  1. Tell me about your blog, why the theme? Why is your blog different than the others? My blog is about all things book connected – I review books in genres I enjoy, mainly romantic,  travel, historical and thrillers. I also host guest posts and interviews as well as promo posts.

 

  1. Talking books – what genres do you review/prefer?

I like anything with a good story and it’s probably easier to say what I don’t enjoy; science-fiction, fantasy, steampunk but even then I have been known to give them a go.

 

  1. Apart from blogs – do you blog about any other subject? If not, do you have plans to in the future?

I also have a personal blog where I blog about my own writing and experiences

www.juliesworldofbooks.blogspot.co.uk

  1. What is your favourite book so far this year?

I’ve almost finished Victoria Hislop’s ‘Cartes postales from Greece’ and it’s shaping up to be my favourite read so far. I love the stories that the postcards tell and can’t wait to see if there is a connection with the recipient. It’s so tactile it makes you want to keep stroking the book. I do hope it’s not just me!!!

 

  1. What is your favourite book?

I love John Fowles’ ‘The Magus’ – probably because it’s set in my beloved Greece. The writing is beautiful and he recreates something of Greece’s magic on the page. I also discover something new every time I read it.

julie-ryan

  1. Which book are you looking forward to the most due to come out?

The next Victoria Hislop but I may have to wait a while.

 

  1. Tell me a little about you!

What would you like to know? I live in rural Gloucestershire with a husband, son and two daft cats. I’m cat mad, chocoholic by nature and collect books. Unfortunately my husband is dyslexic and doesn’t appreciate my passion, especially since they are taking over the house. We live in a ruin that we have been trying to do-up for about ten years now. Maybe one day it will get finished (if we win the lottery). When not reading, blogging or writing I enjoy treading the boards in our local amateur dramatic group, usually playing Fairy Godmother in panto – Oh yes I do!

11.Finally, if you could have written any book already in existence, which one would you choose and why?

For its sheer beauty of language I wish I’d written ‘Le grand Meaulnes’ by Alain Fournier. It’s so atmospheric and recaptures adolescence perfectly. I studied it for A Level and it has always stayed with me.  It may be time to have another read and see how good my French really is after all this time.

Thank you Julie for coming to chat to us, and please, dear readers, check our her blogs!

 

Rachel xx

 

Leave a Reply

