Book Blogger Showcase: Rae’s Reads

 

It’s Book Blogger Showcase day! Today I am honoured to have the rather awesome Rachel Broughton, owner of Rae’s Reads – Welcome Rachel!

  1. How long have you been a book blogger?

Since the beginning of December, 2015

 

  1. How old is your blog? Did you have any before?

It will be a year old in December, so still pretty new!

Rae reads is my first blog and I am still learning as I go.

 

  1. Why did you get into blogging in the first place?

I have always enjoyed reading and I used to leave the odd review on Goodreads. However after winning quite a few books in competitions I decided it would be lovely to start leaving regular reviews. I looked into starting a blog and decided it would be perfect for me.

 

  1. Tell me about your blog, why the theme? Why is your blog different than the others?

My blog is mainly based on book reviews although I do like to take part in Blog Tours and Cover Reveals. It’s lovely to help authors show off their lovely books!

 

  1. Talking books – what genres do you review/prefer?

Mainly romance but also thrillers, fantasy and childrens books.

 

  1. Apart from blogs – do you blog about any other subject? If not, do you have plans to in the future?

I have posted one product review as I won a subscription box and thought it would be lovely to review it. My book reviews pretty much take over! I would like to post more varied blog posts in the future though.

 

  1. What is your favourite book so far this year?

This is a tough one!!!

Okay I am going to cheat and pick three although I could pick a lot more.

The Little Bookshop of Lonely Hearts by Annie Darling

The Late Blossoming of Frankie Green by Laura Kemp

Melody Bittersweet and the Girls’ Ghostbusting Agency by Kitty French

 

  1. What is your favourite book?

Another difficult one!

I’m going to pick one from when I was younger – Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret by Judy Blume

Then a more recent one – Who’s Afraid of Mr Wolfe by Hazel Osmond

 

  1. Which book are you looking forward to the most due to come out?

The 3rd and last in the From Manhattan with Love series called Miracle on 5th Avenue by Sarah Morgan. I’ve really enjoyed the series and I can’t wait to read Eva’s story.

 

Tell me a little about you!

I’m a mum of two so I am pretty busy running after my little ones most days. I also work part time so it’s lovely to relax with a book in an evening. I love sharing my love of books with my children and there is nothing better than reading with them. Definitely my favourite part of the day!

If I’m not reading I do like to watch a bit of TV and I am always looking for something new to watch. So any suggestions are always welcome!

 

  1. Sweet or savoury?

Can I have both?

If not I guess I will pick Savoury, crisps are definitely my weakness!

 

  1. Summer or Christmas?

Before having children I would have probably said Summer however Christmas is just that bit more magical now.

 

  1. Finally, if you could have written any book already in existence, which one would you choose and why?

Emma by Jane Austen

or

North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell

In both of these books the heroines have their flaws and I think this makes them much more interesting. So it would have been great to have created these characters. Although to be honest even though I love to read books I don’t think I would be capable of writing one!

Follow Rae’s Reads on Facebook and Twitter.

Leave a Reply

