Today on the blog we have Bella Osborne, author of Willow Cottage! Happy publication day to Bella, Part 2 is out today!

A Day in the Life of…

I am eased from my slumber by the gentle sound of bird song, I float angel like into my writing den, a Zen space that channels my creativity. Perfect prose drips from my pen in an uninterrupted stream and at 3 o’clock the bluebirds tie my manuscript in ribbon and carry it away…

Perhaps that’s not wholly accurate. Sadly I don’t live in a magical house so my day goes more like this…

I am woken just after seven by a cup of tea, well, to be precise my husband brings the tea. Like I said – not a magical house. Having woken frequently throughout the night as genius plot developments have permeated the molten marshmallow that is my brain and I have scrawled them on a post it note in the dark I now discover that my illegible scribble makes no sense at all.

I check what’s happening on social media and the child usually appears for a cuddle and often shares an interesting question to be pondered such as ‘If people could fly would they have to take a test to do it, like a driving test?’

We eat breakfast together, which is usually followed by a frantic panic when we realise that the child needs something for school such as lunch, spelling book or drumsticks and a hunt commences (not for lunch, we don’t make her hunt and catch her own lunch, we are surprisingly civilised).

We join others on the walk to school and conversation is usually interspersed with yawns until the children are deposited and I head to my study. I say study (because it sounds writerly) but it’s actually our spare bedroom. If I am in the middle of something it may appear on first glance by untrained eyes that I have been burgled or subject to a pretty intrusive police search but believe it or not I do actually know exactly what all those pieces of paper, jotted lines and post it notes are. And the biscuit crumbs are simply the by-product of a productive session. In there somewhere will be a current To Do list (I love lists) which I will consult and most likely add to.

Then I crack on. If I’m writing a first draft I will have already mapped out my plot and written character profiles so I am usually able to read the last line from the day before and just carry on. If I am rewriting I may read and reread the same sentence multiple times, change it, streamline it before moving onto the next sentence and then realising the former isn’t actually required at all. This is the time consuming side of writing and the bit that has you pulling your hair out in clumps.

My alarm goes off at 3 o’clock giving me time to finish off what I’m working on before I join the ‘walking bus’ of parents that wander back to the school for pick up. There is usually a quick fire download from the child on the highlights of her day before I take her to that day’s afterschool activity where I sometimes have a chance to grab a few minutes to do some more writing.

Then it’s back home and time to cook tea. I try to cook something new once a week which always causes a lot of muttering and head shaking from both husband and child and although they would never admit it eight times out of ten they like what I’ve conjured up. In the evening I will watch a bit of TV, drink more tea and then go to bed and read before thinking how lucky I am to have this life and the wonderful people in it. I never imagined I would have the job and the family of my dreams so perhaps there is a little something that’s magical about my house after all.

Sounds lovely to me 🙂 Ed. 

Here is a taster of the book…

Willow Cottage is Bella’s third novel and is being released in four parts digitally before being published as a whole novel in June 2017. Part one is already available and part two is published today, 20th October.
Beth is running away. With her young son Leo to protect, Willow Cottage is the lifeline she so desperately needs. Overlooking the village green in a beautiful Cotswolds idyll, Beth sees a safe place for little Leo.
When she finally uncovers the cottage from underneath the boughs of a weeping willow tree, Beth realises this is far more of a project than she bargained for and the locals are more than a little eccentric! A chance encounter with gruff Jack, who appears to be the only male in the village under thirty, leaves the two of them at odds but it’s not long before Beth realises that Jack has hidden talents that could help her repair more than just Willow Cottage.
Over the course of four seasons, Beth realises that broken hearts can be mended, and sometimes love can be right under your nose…
bella-winter-cottage
How lovely is that cover!
To learn more about Bella and her books visit her website or Twitter.
Willow Cottage is out now from Amazon and Kobo.
Leave a Reply

