Author Interview: Ellie Darkins

darkins

Hi, thanks for coming to chat to us today!

Q1. Can you tell us a little about your WIP?

My new book is called HOLIDAY WITH THE MYSTERY ITALIAN and was inspired by TV dating shows. The hero and heroine meet on a celebrity version of the show, and I loved exploring that excitement of seeing that two strangers have a spark and attraction, and voyeuristically following them to see if it would lead somewhere!

Q2.What’s next for the writing?

Up next is FALLING FOR THE REBEL PRINCESS: royal party-girl marries rock-star in Vegas!

Q3. In addition to your books, what kind of career have you had?

Before I was a writer I was a professional editor, and I balance the two careers at the moment. I mentor lots of budding authors and get the first look at some fabulous stories! Back when I was still at university (studying English Literature) I worked in a bookshop, so I’ve pretty much been steeped in books for my entire professional life.

Q4. A typical day in the life of you – what does that look like?

As well as the reading and the writing I look after my one-year-old, so on nursery days it’s all about getting us both out the house, dropping little one off at nursery, finding a friendly coffee shop and settling in with the laptop until lunch. Then it’s home and chaos until bedtime, after which I’ll open the laptop again and try and get some more words down (or maybe watch a sneaky episode of something if the morning went well!)

Q5. I collect elephant ornaments (and books of course!) – do you have something you collect?

Do dust bunnies count?!

Q6. Women writers, and romance writers in particular, often see prejudice and a certain ‘pigeon holing’ when it comes to their books – what would you say about your own work?

I have to say I’ve had nothing but supportive words from people I’ve met in real life (perhaps it’s because when people ask me what I do, I tell them with a beaming smile and assure them that, yes, it is super-amazing to be a romance author). But I’ve read articles and reviews that show that there are still people out there that don’t value the romance genre as much as it deserves. Of course it’s disappointing to know that attitudes like this still exist, but I think it comes from unfamiliarity with the genre. So I try to combat it sharing as many great authors as I can, talking to everyone I meet about how fabulous romance novels are, and pressing books into the hands of anyone who will take them.

Q7. If you could branch out into a different genre, which one would you choose and why?

I think I’d explore something the darker and edgier, like psychological women’s fiction.

Q8. Do you have any tips for the budding novelists out there reading this?

My only advice really is to just keep writing. Sadly there are no shortcuts to the Happy Ever After, you just have to keep putting one word in front of another.

Q9. What are you reading currently?

I’m currently re-reading Apple Tree Yard, by Louise Doughty. It couldn’t be further from a Mills & Boon, but it’s a book that’s been haunting me since I first read it a couple of years ago. I recommended it to a mentoring client, and then couldn’t resist going back to see if it’s as good as I remember. It’s better.

Q10. Finally, do you have a next goal or dream in life? If so, what is it?

Wow, big question. At the moment, my big goal is to start the next book! It can be tricky letting go of a story and characters you love and know so well and starting again at a blank first page. I’m doing lots of character work at the moment to get to know my new hero and heroine and hopefully their story will start to flow soon.

To hear more about Ellie and her book – see below!

HOLIDAY WITH THE MYSTERY ITALIAN – OUT 1 DECEMBER 2016

Since the accident that paralyzed him, Italian tycoon Mauro Evans vowed to embrace life. So when he stars in a dating show for charity, picking prickly journalist Amber Harris as the winner to take on holiday is a challenge he can’t resist!   In Amber’s experience, relationships equal pain, so she’s determined to ignore her attraction to charismatic Mauro. But his bravery and strength threaten to tear down her defenses, giving her a new Christmas dream—ringing in the New Year with wedding bells!

Ellie Darkins  writes heart-warming stories about falling in love, finding your soul mate and fighting hard to make real relationships work. The HEA is guaranteed, but nothing else along the way is. Expect to see surprise babies, breath-taking settings and alpha heroes by the bucketload. Plus steamy kisses, heaps of sensual tension, and fireworks just audible from behind a closed bedroom door.

Elliedarkins.com

Facebook: facebook.com/elliedarkins

Twitter: twitter.com/elliedarkins

Insta: Instagram.com/ellie_darkins

Leave a Reply

